Types of Burns

Types of Burns

Burn injury severity is based on several factors, including the patient’s age, their health condition at the time of injury, and the size, depth and location of the burn. Please click on the links below to learn more about each specific type of burn.

Traditionally, burns have been classified according to depth of the burn. Burns may be classified as:

A Rule of Nines chart is used to determine the total body surface area (TBSA) that has been burned. The chart divides the body into sections that represent multiples of nine. The TBSA affected is expressed as a percentage. In determining the TBSA of children and infants, the Lund-Browder chart is used. A separate chart is used for children because the surface area of the head and neck of a child is larger than an adult, while their limbs are smaller.

Inhalation injuries occur as a result of breathing in smoke and noxious products of combustion, as well as superheated air.

Burn Types
may also be categorized based on mechanism of injury:

  • Scalds
  • Flame Burns
  • Contact Burns
  • Chemical Burns
  • Electrical Burns
  • Radiation Burns